Skip to content

Deficit: Why Should I Care?- Marie Bussing-Burks

January 8, 2012

Ok, I know this is a little off the deep end for me guys. You know me as the fictionally obsessed girl who can’t get enough of the everlasting stories featuring the timeless tales of good vs. evil. Well, I do have a different side to me, I am……get ready for it……..

A business major.

I know, I know, I’ve shocked you all- I go to class with all the cookie cutter youth of our time. I do have an interest in our corporate run country and I do want to understand how our capitalist economy world goes round. I try to do it as unbiased as one can and I think I found the perfect book. Ladies and gentleman, I give you…….

Deficit: Why Should I Care?

 

The Book

There’s been a lot of talk on our favorite news stations about the national debt and the deficit that has us mere mortals exhausting our TiVo. We know we should care, but it’s hard when every time the news station brings an expert on to explain the issues, they start throwing in words like, “treasuries” and “securities.” Your mind then wanders to, “Isn’t the national debt and the deficit the same thing?” By the time you straighten all this information out in your head, the “expert” is gone and you feel deflated. 

Marie Bussing-Burks, a Master of Business Administration and Doctorate of Arts in Economics, has given us Deficit: Why Should I Care? In 98 pages, Marie takes a massively complicated topic and makes it easy to understand by giving straight forward definitions and relatable examples. When you walk away from this book, you will have a working understanding of;

  • How to calculate deficits and the national debt
  • The history of U.S debt
  • How and why the government borrows money
  • How to balance the budget
  • When and why debt can be good or bad
  • How interest rates and inflation are influenced by debt
  • Why debt affects the value of the dollar

Why You Should Care

As a book that helps provide understanding to one of the most important issues in our history, it is a must read for anyone from a concerned parent worried about their children’s futures to a college professor stressing the importance of economics to a room full of students. No matter if you’re reading over a hot cup of coffee or cramming before exams, you’ve got to check this book out!

Deficit: Why Should I Care? is available on Amazon and at Barnes and Noble Booksellers. To learn more, go to aprèss.com.

Happy reading/learning,

B

From → Nonfiction

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment