Skip to content

One for the Money- Janet Evanovich

November 10, 2011

Ok, so I decided to try something different.

Bit of family information- my mother doesn’t really read, not to say she isn’t intelligent and doesn’t possess the ability, she’s just someone who’s always doing something  and feels that reading is a bit of a waste of time. So, I’m sure you can understand that I was absolutely gobsmacked when her and my sister started raving about their new favorite books, the Stephanie Plum series. The first of which is called One for the Money.

Background….

Stephanie Plum gets laid off from her job as a lingerie buyer and is forced to find new work. To get some quick cash, she decides to become a…………bounty hunter?? I know, it’s a bit farfetched.

Anyway, it’s supposed to be comedic and witty, and I guess it is, but I just couldn’t get into it. Actually, I haven’t even finished it……..I know, this isn’t reflecting on me very well, but it just wasn’t my genre. There was no thought provoking plot line, no folklorist twist, no incredibly obvious and literal good versus evil theme.

I guess this is what I get for trying something new…….never again……

On the bright side, there will be a movie based on this story, starring Katherine Heigl. You can watch the trailer here. It looks hilarious and I’m sure I’ll watch it and like it, it just wasn’t my kinda reading material.

Read up on Stephanie Plum and her creator, Janet Evanovich here.

Happy reading,

B

From → Fiction

4 Comments
  1. Don’t you hate that, when you get invested in a book but its more an investment of time than emotion. I’m working on a book right now (reading not writing) and it feels like I’m chewing on steak that has been cooked way too long.

    But its a classic and so I feel like I should read it.

    Anyway, happy reading and writing.

    • I couldn’t agree with you more. If you don’t mind, which book are you working your way through now?

  2. I hope you forgive me but its Les Misrables.

    Really the writing is excellent, its just so long. Have you read it before?

    • I have never read Les Mis, but it is supposedly one of the greats. I do have a theory about the classics though, I blogged about it, it’s listed under uncategorized. On the whole, I’m not a huge fan……haha

Leave a comment