Skip to content

Breaking Dawn the movie vs. Breaking Dawn the book

November 19, 2011

So, I’m a total nerd and was one of the millions that saw Breaking Dawn Part 1 at 12:05 AM the morning of the 18th.

Let me preface this by saying that this movie was (comparatively speaking) good. I was pleasantly surprised by the acting, because in the previous installments, it was less than lack luster, let’s just be honest. However, I am not so Twilight crazy that I think this was worth an Oscar nomination , or even a people’s choice nomination for that matter, but anyway…….

Onto the comparisons…

Ok, so people have been freaking over this sex scene, and to be honest, it wasn’t all that big of a deal. From the way they had been promoting it, I thought it was going to be the sex scene from 300 or something! It was sexy I guess, but more sweet than anything else, I mean they are supposed to be married, it’s their honeymoon night and this is their first time. This just equals sweet. I guess the freak out was because, if you recall, in the book, we are led to the moment right before the deed, and we pick up the morning after. The sex is never described. So, I think people were surprised that this scene even happened.

But…..

So I was listening to the radio the next morning and people were calling in and talking about what they thought of the Breaking Dawn Part 1 movie. Mostly Moms were calling in to talk about the sex scene, saying it was inappropriate for someone under 13- well, hello, its rated PG13. Anyway, she mentioned that there was a breast exposed in the shot. This surprised me, I couldn’t remember seeing a boob, so I texted a friend of mine who I knew had seen the movie as well.

Her response, “yeah, I totally saw her nipple!” So, with this knowledge, I guess this is a bit racier than originally thought. But, it’s because I wasn’t looking for it like a paranoid Mom would be- mind always in the gutter.

My advice- Don’t see this movie with your Mom guys, I took my 15 year old sister and two of her friends and none of us felt awkward watching it together or talking about it afterward. Take it from me, I’m 21 and I still feel awkward watching sex scenes with my parents in the room. See this movie with an older sister or a group of friends, no Moms aloud.  

Major spoiler alerts…

Ok, the only other really annoying thing that happened in the movie that did not happen in the book was part of the birthing scene. In the movie, Edward shows Bella their baby before frantically trying to turn her into a vampire. This doesn’t happen in the book!!! There’s no time, she’s freaking dying idiot, save her!! At least that’s what I was saying to the screen during this awkward calm, let me show you our baby while your intestines are hanging out of you and you have more broken bones than I can count, scene.

Another thing they could’ve done better or made a bit clearer is the change from Bella telling the story in first person, to Jacob telling the story in first person. They could’ve had Jacob do a narrative voice over like Bella always does at the beginning of every movie. It just wasn’t clear why they were all of a sudden focusing on Jacob.

So there it is, my review/comparison of the Breaking Dawn movie and the book. Definitely see this movie guys, it is worth it, by far the best of the lot.

Happy reading/watching,

B

2 Comments
  1. Shanyoi permalink

    I’m a book and movie freak. I read breaking dawn last year and it was really good-though it was obvious that the author still need some practise with her writing skill. I love the story line though. however, my problem is that the movies disappoint me. after reading the book i had hope that the movie would be extremely excellent- it was good but not excellent. also, a lot of the story line was leave out….what about the story of the legend with such species- half human, half vampire. why was rose suddenly bella’s bestfriend. the book gave it, why couldnt the movie mentioned it. as i said before, its good but not excellent.

    • I completely agree!! The movies are not noteworthy, but I still go to all the premieres, haha! Yeah, the never explain the Rose/Bella relationship. If I hadn’t first read the books, I would’ve been incredibly confused if I hadn’t first read the books!!

Leave a comment